A Little Late, but Kudos to John McCain

I voted for Barack Obama and my dream came true. I was there on the National Mall when he took his oath of office on January 20, 2009. It was a moment in time I will NEVER forget. I also want to make sure that people don’t forget about John McCain. A lot of people may talk about “more of the same” and rightfully so, but I am not here to talk about that. I am here to talk about his character and how gracious he was on Election Day. I really appreciate his style and the way he handled himself after Senator, now President, Barack Obama won the election. As far as I am concerned, both men won. He could have been bitter and slung mud and called for a recount or something else negative, but he didn’t. He was human, he was gracious and collected and gave credit to Barack Obama for a well-fought contest. I already had respect for him on account of his war record. He asked his own camp to cease and desist with the boos. Basically he said “we’re better than that and the better man won”. “We need to act accordingly and with dignity and respect not only for Barack Obama, but for ourselves as well”. That too, was a great moment in history that won’t go down as high as Barack Obama’s Inauguration, but it still should be remembered as a great day in partisan politics when the other party concedes in such a manner. It moved me. I salute you John McCain and I ask that you help Barack Obama be all he can be. I will do my part as well and contribute here online and offline as well. I urge everyone reading this to do the same. When we ALL help each other we are ALL WINNERS! 🙂

Yours in political solidarity,

Joseph R Mays

Leave a Reply

